Sixteen teams are drawn into four pools of four teams each. Each team plays everyone in their pool one time. The top two teams from each pool advance to the Cup/Plate brackets. The bottom two teams from each group go to the Bowl/Shield brackets.


The main tournament will consist of the fifteen core teams and one invited team:

  •  Argentina
  •  Fiji
  •  New Zealand
  •  Russia
  •  Australia
  •  France
  •  Samoa
  •  United States
  •  Canada
  •  Japan
  •  Scotland
  •  Wales
  •  England
  •  Kenya
  •  South Africa
  • Invited Team (TBD)